There are many free cloud storage options available. However, in order to take full advantage of the features of a cloud storage service and get a higher amount of space to save your files, a paid plan is the best option. One thing that you may wonder is what happens if you don’t pay for your cloud storage service on time. Many users wonder if their data is deleted when they fail to keep up with the payments. The truth is that each provider has its own rules when it comes to this. In this article, we will take a look at what some of the most popular providers do in case you don’t pay for your service on time.
Dropbox, Google Drive, SugarSync and JustCloud
Dropbox states that when the users stop paying for the service, the account is automatically downgraded to their free plan. Due to this, it is not possible to add or import new data. However, the files that you have previously stored are not deleted and you can still access them.
Google Drive’s policies are similar to Dropbox’s in terms of what happens with the data in case of lack of payment. When you create an account, it is set to auto-renew, but if there are not enough funds, or the card has expired and the renewal fails, users have 7 days to try to send the payment again. Users are also given 30 days to clear space on their account or to buy a new plan. Once the time expires, the storage limits are decreased to those offered by the free plan and although files can still be accessed, it is not possible to add or create new ones.
The terms of service of SugarSync establish that once a paid subscription is set up, the company can charge the card associated to the account, until the account is canceled. There is no specific time frame stating how many payments could be missed, before the service is cancelled or terminated. However, once the service is cancelled, users will immediately stop being able to access the service.
JustCloud takes a harsher approach when payments are not made. If the service is not paid within 7 days and there is no justification for it, the company can start collection proceedings and charge additional fees or interests. When an account is non-renewed, cancelled, expired or terminated, the files are immediately deleted.
It is important to check what your cloud storage provider says in its terms and conditions about unpaid services. The policies vary but if you are aware of what actions are taken in case you miss a payment, you can avoid losing your stored data or incurring in additional charges. Make sure that you check your provider’s website to find specific information about the policies on usage and payments.